剖析真相:美國股市

資本形成的關鍵動力,與創造就業和經濟增長的基石。

1

美國股市是投資者在金融領域尋找機遇以及為儲蓄增值的重要源頭。

全美國有超過一半人直接或間接投資於股市。

過去 20 年,美國股市經歷了巨大的變化。

美國股市藉著多項措施,包括降低交易成本、增加透明度及穩定性,得到很大改善。透過特定的監管,促進市場競爭及創新,同時為散戶與機構投資者提供了前所未有的豐厚回報。

這些優勢相當深遠。

美國股市深受全世界羨慕,它讓不同規模的企業得到集資的機會,而投資者亦能參與這些企業的增長與成功,機構投資者則可為客戶的退休金或教育儲蓄投資增值。

美國股市的演變

1970 年代至 2000 年代初期間,監管機構推行一系列規則以促進交易所及各種新電子平台之間的競爭,包括由經紀交易商營運的另類交易系統及平台。

無論是像紐約證券交易所 (NYSE) 或納斯達克 (Nasdaq) 這類註冊交易所,還是其他平台,經紀在法律規定下必須將客戶訂單轉發到最佳執行源頭。這些交易場所必須在更佳價格、服務與表現的基礎上進行創新和競爭。

這種針對最佳執行的競爭能惠及所有投資者

美國股市的交易成本較歐洲、日本和中國股市低。當中部分原因來自競爭,因為交易所、做市商和其他平台互相競爭以最低的價格提供最好的服務。

此外亦反映過去 20 年買賣價差急劇收緊的情況,即買賣股票的最佳可用價格之間的差額。當價差較大時,負責執行交易的實體便能賺取更多金錢。當價差較小時,投資者會得到更有利的交易。

交易所、做市商和其他平台互相競爭透過縮小價差來吸引交易。

透明度有助於增強信心,當投資者對價格更有信心時,價差往往會縮小(從而降低交易成本),市場會變得更加穩定。在過去二十年,美國股市正是如此。

美國股票市場其中一個基本特徵,是強大的公開價格發現過程,這本身亦是市場電子化演變的結果。市場參與者能夠實時看到股票的價值。無論訂單在何處執行,他們還可以通過綜合行情表 (Consolidated Tape),即時查看交易前報價及交易後執行數據。

經紀商和其他實體亦須根據美國證券交易委員會規則第 605 條及第 606 條,每月披露有關執行質素的廣泛資料。

隨着包括做市商在內的各種行業參與者投入大量投資,股票市場數碼化演變增加交易量,並且降低買賣價差,即買賣股票的最佳可供用價格之間的差額。

結果,市場的深度增加,意味着市場能夠吸收相對較大的訂單,而不會顯著影響證券價格。

2020 年 3 月全球疫情期間,市場更充分表現這種堅韌力。正當其他市場在成交量激增的壓力下陷入僵局,美國股市卻保持深厚的流動性,並按照預期運作。

美國股市的操作對散戶投資者而言特別好。

做市商透過提供更佳執行力來爭奪嘉信理財、富達投資、羅賓漢和德美利證券等散戶證券商的訂單。此等做市商有能力以與交易所上全國最佳買賣價 (NBBO) 相應,甚至常見的更佳價格執行相關訂單。單單在過去一年,做市商為散戶投資者提供的價格改善達逾 30 億美元。1

近期的分析亦顯示,公開匯報的價格改善可能被低估,因為監管披露並未納入所有訂單類型和規模。因此,價格改善可能是目前公開文件所顯示金額的兩至三倍。

散戶投資者把訂單交予做市商執行,能獲得較強的流動性,他們能從中顯著受惠;流動性是指,在不顯著影響市場價格的情況下買賣證券或其他資產的難易程度。此外,經紀商把這類訂單轉發予做市商,亦能助散戶投資者節省交易所費用,即交易所向投資者在其場所內進行交易而收取的費用。

1 Citadel 證券對 605 數據進行分析。

常見問題

一般資訊

Citadel 證券

價格改善大幅提升

當做市商的價格比交易所提供的最佳價格,即全國最佳買賣價 (National Best Bid and Offer, NBBO) 更具優勢時,便作出了價格改善。由於做市商之間競爭激烈,近年價格改善大幅提升,為散戶投資者節省不少成本。

Market makers now deliver billions of dollars in price improvement to retail investors each year. Last year alone, market makers delivered more than $3 billion in price improvement to retail investors in the equities market.5

5 Citadel Securities’ analysis of 605 data.

Price improvement amounts to a significant savings on a per ticket, or per order, basis and Citadel Securities leads the industry in delivering it.

Citadel 證券的建議

Citadel 證券對美國金融市場的效率及穩定性深感興趣。對投資者而言,今天美國資本市場的運作是前所未有般出色,我們為貫徹倡議旨在促進市場競爭、透明度及堅韌力的措施感到自豪。

 

隨著美國證券交易委員會審查金融市場法規,我們認為美國資本市場卓越的全球地位能夠並理應進一步走強。

 

我們就如何增強以下重要市場的競爭、透明度及堅韌力提供具體的政策建議:

提升競爭:

  1. 在適當的情況下,將股票最小價格變動減少至半美分,以增加場內交易並推動更佳價格。
  2. 在適當的情況下,將目前的使用費用上限降低 50%,從而增加場內交易並降低交易成本。
  3. 促進公平使用黑池和提升其公佈資訊要求,平衡競爭環境。

增強透明度:

  1. 全面審查根據最近更新規則發佈的 606 報告,確保 PFOF 安排有效而透明。
  2. 採用金融資訊論壇的建議,包括納入訂單規模,對規則第 605 條作現代化修改,以提供更完善及詳細的價格改善統計數據。

加強堅韌力:

  1. 支持和監督行業轉移到 T+1 結算,以釋放資本及營運效率。
  2. 向市場參與者提供有關 CCP 保證金要求的更高透明度和可預測性。

增強透明度:

  1. 實施實時公開報告,提高透明度、公平性和競爭性。
  2. 支持提高向監管機構報告的美國國庫市場數據的質量與及時性。
  3. 收集有關未清算雙邊回購的數據。

加強堅韌力:

  1. 將二級現金市場交易和雙邊美國國債回購中的更多交易活動轉移到中央清算,提高市場堅韌力與效率。
  2. 通過最終確定法規 ATS 提案並將多邊策略和詢價場所納入範圍,確保對多邊交易場所進行適當監督。

提升競爭:

  1. 通過最終確定以證券為基礎的互換執行設施規則,包括對所有市場參與者的公平進入和禁止交易後放棄商品名稱,提供更大的透明度、公平性和競爭性。

增強透明度:

  1. 通過設置大宗交易閾值,取消公開報告 24 小時延遲發佈,以提高透明度。

加強堅韌力:

  1. 實施與商品期貨交易委員會和歐盟標準一致的直通式處理規則。
  2. 採用單一名稱信用違約掉期的清算要求。
  3. 取消對未清算的交易商間交易的初始保證金要求的豁免。
  4. 在公開報告、清算和交易要求方面,確保對與美國有充分聯繫的離岸交易進行適當監督。

Citadel 證券的建議

本網站的資訊由 Citadel Securities Americas LLC(「Citadel 證券」)提供。此等資訊僅供閣下參考而非作商業用途,並無意提供稅務、法律或投資建議,亦不應被詮釋為出售、購買要約或招攬,或由 Citadel 證券或任何第三方提供的任何證券建議。

本網站包含其他網站的連結。Citadel 證券並未就認可任何第三方網站或與之關聯,由 Citadel 提供連結的任何網站擁有者亦未認可 Citadel 證券。

CITADEL SECURITIES® 與 CITADEL® 是 CE TM Holdings LLC 的註冊服務商標。所有其他公司名稱、商標或服務商標均為其各自擁有者的財產。

繁體中文 ▾

Get the Facts: The U.S. Equities Market

A key driver of capital formation and a cornerstone of job creation and economic growth.

1

The U.S. equities market is a critical source of financial opportunity and savings.

Over half of all Americans are invested directly or indirectly in the market.

Over the past 20 years, the U.S. equities market has evolved significantly.

The U.S. equities market has improved by multiple measures, from lower transaction costs to greater transparency and stability. By regulatory design, it promotes competition and innovation and provides both retail and institutional investors better outcomes than ever before.

The benefits are far-reaching.

The U.S. equities market is the envy of the world, enabling companies large and small to raise capital, investors to participate in the growth and success of these businesses and institutions to invest on behalf of individuals saving for retirement or education.

The U.S. Equities Market Evolution

Between the 1970s and early 2000s, regulators introduced a series of rules to promote competition among exchanges and a diverse range of new electronic platforms, including alternative trading systems and platforms operated by broker-dealers.

Brokers are legally required to route customer orders to the source of best execution—be it a registered exchange like NYSE or Nasdaq or an alternative platform. These trading venues must innovate and compete for business on the basis of better pricing, service and performance.

That best execution competition benefits all investors.

Trading costs for U.S. equities are lower than in European, Japanese and Chinese equities markets. That’s partly an outcome of competition, as exchanges, market makers and other platforms compete to provide the best service at the lowest price.

It’s also a reflection of the dramatic tightening over the past 20 years of bid-ask spreads—the difference between the best available prices at which shares can be bought and sold. When spreads are wide, the entities responsible for executing trades make more money. When spreads are narrow, investors get a better deal.

Exchanges, market makers and other platforms compete to attract trades by narrowing spreads.

Transparency fosters confidence, and when investors have greater confidence in prices, spreads tend to narrow (thus lowering trading costs) and markets become more stable. That’s been the case in U.S. equities over the past two decades.

One of the bedrock features of the U.S. equities market is its robust public price discovery process, which is itself an outcome of the market’s electronic evolution. Market participants are able to see the value of stocks in real time. They also enjoy immediate visibility into pre-trade quotes and post-trade execution data through the Consolidated Tape, regardless of where the order was executed.

Brokers and other entities are also required to provide extensive disclosure of their execution quality on a monthly basis through Securities and Exchange Commission Rules 605 and 606.

The digital evolution of the equities market—following significant investments by a variety of industry participants, including market makers—has increased trading volume and reduced bid-ask spreads (the difference between the best available prices at which stocks can be bought and sold).

As a result, the market has greater depth, which means that it can absorb relatively large orders without significantly impacting the price of the security.

The market’s resilience was on full display in March 2020, amid the onset of the global pandemic. While other markets seized up under the pressure of surging volume, the U.S. equities market retained its deep liquidity and functioned as intended.

The U.S. equities market functions especially well for individual investors.

Market makers compete for orders from retail brokers like Charles Schwab, Fidelity, Robinhood and TD Ameritrade by offering better execution. They are able to execute these orders at prices that match or often beat the National Best Bid and Offer price (NBBO) listed on exchanges. Last year alone, market makers delivered more than $3 billion in price improvement to retail investors.1

Recent analysis also indicates that publicly reported price improvement may be understated because regulatory disclosures do not account for all order types and sizes. As a result, price improvement could be two or three times the amount currently indicated in public filings.

Retail investors significantly benefit from the enhanced liquidity—or the ease with which securities or other assets can be bought or sold without significantly affecting the market price—that they receive from having orders executed by market makers. In addition, by routing these orders to market makers, brokers also enable retail investors to save exchange fees (fees that exchanges charge investors to trade on their venues).

1 Citadel Securities’ analysis of 605 data.

Frequently Asked Questions

General

Citadel Securities

Price Improvement Has Dramatically Increased

When a market maker beats the best price available on the exchanges, also known as the National Best Bid and Offer price (NBBO), it has provided price improvement. Price improvement has increased dramatically in recent years due to robust competition among market makers, leading to meaningful savings for retail investors.

Market makers now deliver billions of dollars in price improvement to retail investors each year. Last year alone, market makers delivered more than $3 billion in price improvement to retail investors in the equities market.5

5 Citadel Securities’ analysis of 605 data.

Price improvement amounts to a significant savings on a per ticket, or per order, basis and Citadel Securities leads the industry in delivering it.

Citadel Securities’ Recommendations

Citadel Securities has a strong interest in the efficiency and stability of U.S. financial markets. U.S. capital markets work better today for investors than ever before, and we are proud to consistently advocate for measures designed to enhance competition, transparency and resiliency.

 

As the Securities and Exchange Commission reviews financial market regulations, we believe that the preeminent global position of the U.S. capital markets can, and should, be further strengthened.

 

We have provided specific policy recommendations to increase competition, transparency and resiliency in the following important markets:

For Greater Competition:

  1. Increase on-exchange trading and drive better prices by reducing the minimum tick size to a half-penny where appropriate.
  2. Increase on-exchange trading and lower trading costs by reducing the current access fee cap by 50% where appropriate.
  3. Level the competitive playing field by expanding fair access and public display requirements for dark pools.

For Enhanced Transparency:

  1. Ensure effective transparency of PFOF arrangements by comprehensively reviewing the 606 reports being published pursuant to the recently updated rules.
  2. Modernize Rule 605 to provide more refined and detailed price improvement statistics by adopting the recommendations of the Financial Information Forum, including taking order size into account.

For Increased Resiliency:

  1. Unlock capital and operational efficiencies by endorsing and overseeing industry efforts to move to T+1 settlement.
  2. Deliver greater transparency and predictability to market participants regarding CCP margin requirements.

For Greater Transparency:

  1. Deliver greater transparency, fairness and competition by implementing real-time public reporting.
  2. Support efforts to increase the quality and timeliness of U.S. Treasury market data reported to regulators.
  3. Collect data on uncleared bilateral repos.

For Increased Resiliency:

  1. Increase market resiliency and efficiency by transitioning more trading activity in both secondary cash market transactions and bilateral U.S. Treasury repos to central clearing.
  2. Ensure appropriate oversight of multilateral trading venues by finalizing the Regulation ATS proposal and including multilateral RFQ venues in scope.

For Greater Competition:

  1. Deliver greater transparency, fairness and competition by finalizing the SB-SEF rules, including impartial access for all market participants and prohibiting post-trade name give-up.

For Enhanced Transparency:

  1. Increase transparency by setting block trade thresholds and eliminating the 24 hour public reporting delay.

For Increased Resiliency:

  1. Implement straight-through-processing rules that are consistent with CFTC and EU standards.
  2. Adopt a clearing requirement for single-name CDS.
  3. Eliminate the exemption from initial margin requirements for uncleared interdealer transactions.
  4. Ensure appropriate oversight over offshore transactions with a sufficient nexus to the U.S. with respect to public reporting, clearing and trading requirements.

Citadel Securities’ Recommendations

The information on this site is provided by Citadel Securities Americas LLC (“Citadel Securiites”). This information is intended only for your personal, non-commercial use, is not intended to provide tax, legal or investment advice, and should not be construed as an offer to sell, a solicitation of an offer to buy, or a recommendation for any security by Citadel Securities or any third party.

This website contains links to other websites. Citadel Securities does not endorse nor is it associated with any third party websites, nor do the owners of any websites to which Citadel provides a link endorse Citadel Securities.

CITADEL SECURITIES® and CITADEL® are registered service marks of CE TM Holdings LLC. All other company names, trademarks, or service marks are properties of their respective owners.